Fishing license fee hike on agenda for Pa. Fish and Boat Commission


The increases in fishing licenses and boat fees are to be considered by the Pennsylvania Fish and Boat Commission at a special meeting on Friday.

Resident fishing license fees — the base fee paid by most anglers — will drop from $21 a year to $23.50 if commissioners approve the new fees as proposed regulations at the meeting Friday and again as final regulations at a future meeting.

According to the commission, fishing license fees have not increased since 2005.

The commission won temporary approval to set its own fees in 2020. Law 56 of that year also included a sunset clause that will see the power to set fees expire in July 2025.

“If new revenue is not in place for the 2023 license year, the commission will not be able to maintain adequate levels of service for Pennsylvania anglers, let alone meet anglers’ desires for effort. increased in many program areas,” the committee noted in its agenda for Friday’s meeting.

Among these program areas, the commission listed “strategic and timely fisheries management”; improvements and maintenance of state hatcheries, hazardous dams and access areas and boat launches; field and classroom education on aquatic resources; information programs for anglers; and conservation law enforcement.

“With no additional or new revenue in the Fish Fund, and as planned expenditures begin to exceed existing revenue, the commission may have to reduce the benefits of the program to fishers,” the agenda document explained. .

Other fishing license fee increases would include trout fishing license from $8 to $10.50; non-resident, from $51 to $55; annual senior resident, $10 to $11.25; senior life resident, $50 to $75; three-day tourist, $25 to $27.50; seven-day tourist, $33 to $35; day tourist, $25 to $27.50; day resident, $10 to $11.25; and trout/Lake Erie combination license, from $14 to $16.50.

  • The Pennsylvania Fish and Boat Commission offers discounted fishing licenses

Boat fees, which have not increased since the 1980s and 1990s, would include increases in certificate of title, from $15 to $58; duplicate title, $15 to $58; transfer of a multi-year boat registration, $5 to $10; passenger boat operator license, $5 to $50; commercial fishing license, $80 to $100; and others.

Friday’s meeting will be at 1 p.m. at the commission’s headquarters at 1601 Elmerton Ave., Harrisburg.

This is an in-person meeting, but it will also be streamed live on the Pennsylvania Fish and Boat Commission The Facebook page.

Contact Marcus Schneck at [email protected].


About Author

Comments are closed.